JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 425

Heads of Mission and the Chancery




The Embassy was formally established in the Republic of South Africa on 03 June 1994. On 24 June 1994, Ambassador Leonides T. Caday presented his credentials to President Nelson R. Mandela as the first resident Ambassador of the Philippines to South Africa. He served as Ambassador in South Africa until 26 January 1996.



For the first two months (from 03 June to 31 July 1994), the Embassy was located at the Courtyard Hotel at Arcadia until a chancery was finally established at the Southern Life Plaza Building, 1st Floor corner Schoeman and Festival Streets, Hatfield on 01 August 1994.




The second Philippine Ambassador who served in South Africa from 05 June 1996 to 16 July 1999 wasAmbassador Eloy R. Bello III, who presented his Letters of Credence to President Mandela on 27 June 1996. Ambassador Bello presented his credentials as non-resident Ambassador to Zambia, Namibia and Swaziland.





Ambassador Aladin G. Villacorte served as Philippine Ambassador from 23 July 1999 to 05 September 2003. He presented his credentials to President Thabo M. Mbeki on 10 September 1999. Ambassador Villacorte presented his Letters of Credence as non-resident Ambassador to Mauritius (formerly under the Embassy's jurisdiction), Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Angola and Namibia. It was during his term that the Chancery moved to its present location at No. 54 Nicolson St., Muckleneuk, Pretoria on 01 September 2000.




The fourth Philippine Ambassador in South Africa was Ambassador Virgilio A. Reyes, Jr., from 30 November 2003 to 25 November 2009. He presented his credentials to President Thabo M. Mbeki on 23 January 2004. The first-ever Embassy newsletter named "Kalayaan" was launched in January 2004. He was the first Ambassador of the Post to serve for six years and to present his credentials to all countries under the Embassy's jurisdiction.






Ambassador Mario L. De Leon, Jr., the fifth Philippine Ambassador in South Africa, arrived in Pretoria on 24 February 2010 and served until 27 February 2011. He presented his Letters of Credence to President Jacob Zuma on 08 June 2010. He was accredited as non-resident Ambassador to the Republic of Botswana on 14 September 2010.






Ambassador Constancio R. Vingno, Jr., the sixth Philippine Ambassador in South Africa, arrived in Pretoria on 20 December 2011. He presented his Letters of Credence to President Jacob Zuma on 01 February 2012.




Consular Jurisdictions and Honorary Consulates

The Embassy has consular jurisdiction over South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The two current Honorary Consular establishments under the area of responsibility of the Embassy are situated in Cape, South Africa and Luanda, Angola, headed by Mr. Steven Chaimowitz (since 23 January 2011) and Mr. Etienne Albert Brechet (since 15 August 1995), respectively. Mr. Chaimowitz replaced Mr. Allan McAllister Harvey, who served as Philippine Honorary Consul in Cape Town from 1996 until his retirement in 2011. Mr. Brechet was promoted to Consul General ad honorem in 2001.

In 1995, Mrs. Jean R. Averia and Mr. Thomas Bryan Colley were appointed as Consuls ad honorem in Windhoek, Namibia and Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, respectively. Mr. Colley resigned in 1996 and was replaced by Mr. Kwenzakwakhe E. Mlaba, who resigned in May 1998. Ms. Averia's appointment expired in 2001.

Commercial/Trade Office

In October 1996, a Philippine Commercial Office, headed by Mr. Marcelino Cortes, Commercial Attaché, was opened. Its office was located at 3rd Floor, Shannon Building, Jans Smuts Avenue, corner 6th Road, Hyde Park, Sandton, Johannesburg. It closed in June 2002.

Chargés d'affaires ad interim

The following officers served as Chargés d'affaires ad interim pending the arrival of new Heads of Mission: Ms. Petronila P. Garcia, Career Minister, from 27 January until 05 June 1996; Mr. Oscar G. Orcine, Career Minister, from 06 September to 30 November 2003; and Mr. Eric R. Aquino, Third Secretary and Vice Consul, from 26 November 2009 to 23 February 2010, and from 27 February 2011 until the appointment of the Ambassador Vigno.